Back It Up!

Back It Up!

You write, you save, you write, you save…

I saved to separate folders within my Documents, each folder headed with the genre of story.

When the story was completed, I then saved to my memory stick/storage pen/USB, whatever you want to call it. So all fine, right!

Wrong!

AustinNoBackup

 

Last year I had a series of unfortunate events, regarding my laptop. To cut a long, and painful, story short, I lost about 70% of work I had written over a 3 year period – even the pen-drive had corrupted files on it. There were lots of tears, a huge amount of swearing, and the laundry basket was kicked to death.Those stories are gone, thousands of words, hundreds of hours, and why? Because I’m a dick!

backingup

So, today I am going to tell you to back up your files – Back Them Up!

There are lots of ‘places’ out there to save your work, I have selected Google Drive; for its simplicity, what do I need with fancy storage? Check out what is available, and what you feel comfortable using, do you need a truckload of space, really?
pb-131031-ferrari-crushed-118p-photoblog900

You may want to look at –

Google Drive, Dropbox, Mega, Tresorit, iCloud, and OneDrive. I personally try to avoid anything Apple related, just a thing I have about over-large companies. If you continue to work as I did, then sooner or later, you’re gonna fall…

backupalbert

 

Keep saving your work as you go, save it to your pen-drive, then Back It Up!

I cannot believe it has taken me so long to do this, don’t be a dick  like me– Back It Up!

Now!

Why are you still here?

Go and save your stories, man!

Back It Up!!

Published by

Alexandra

I'm a writer - or at least I am trying to be - a miscellany of genres, some published, some not. Hates pulses, litter, dog poo, noisy neighbours, our street, spitting, adverts, modern cars, yellow shoes, liver, and people who moan...

Leave a Reply

